Case Study: Alaska Aquaponics

Time to put what you’ve learned into practice 🙂

Here is a video of a woman named Sonja who’s growing using aquaponics in Alaska.  Her system has some great features, and there are always things that can be improved upon.  Can you identify some of the features that make her system work well, and some that could be improved upon?

Add your thoughts to the comments section.  The more we share, the more we learn.

If you’re not sure where to begin, you might want to start with Aquaponics Fundamentals #1 and Fundamentals #2.

5 responses to “Case Study: Alaska Aquaponics

    • I like the bubble wrap idea. I have a friend named Jim Fisk that uses it as low tunnels over his grow beds. I’m not sure how you mean with the pop bottles. Can you elaborate?

      Like

  1. Elizabeth, I use koi. I really like how hardy they are and flexible to temperature extremes. When I want it eat fish, I grab some salmon or halibut. My aquaponic fish are just for fertilizer. Sonja

    Like

  2. Dave, I like the pop bottle idea. I imagine the liter bottles. I wonder how that would work for my stock tank that is outside? Guess I could get the from the recycle place.

    Like

What do you think? Add a comment.

